During busy travel months in the summer, more cars than ever are on the road as families head on road trips across the country. Often, no matter how much caution you exercise, factors beyond your control can make roads unsafe. For example, even on a day with clear skies and plenty of daylight left, external elements affecting other drivers such as exhaustion, fatigue, or driving under the influence could render roads extremely dangerous.
Unfortunately, Maine is no stranger to drivers who operate motor vehicles under the influence. According to recent statistics, 30.7 percent of total driving fatalities in 2018 were alcohol-impaired fatalities. In comparison, the national average for 2018 was 28.8 percent. With this in mind, it is crucial that Maine drivers remain vigilant and proactive, but also know what their legal options are if they are hit by a negligent or reckless driver under the influence.
According to a recent news report, a tractor-trailer crash shut down part of a local interstate and the driver is now facing several drug-related charges. The crash took place when a tractor-trailer hauling pantry staples veered off the right side of the road and collided with rock ledges framing the interstate. The tractor-trailer then rolled on its side and came to a stop with its cab partially in the right lane. Local authorities evaluated the driver, who was deemed impaired by Maine State Police and was arrested and charged with operating a vehicle under the influence of drugs, driving to endanger, and unlawful possession of methamphetamine.
Although the driver in this news report was lucky to not have crashed into anyone while under the influence, not everyone is always this fortunate. In Maine, reckless or negligent drivers who cause accidents may face criminal offenses, which are separate from personal injury claims or civil offenses. This means that even if a driver who hit your car was operating their vehicle under the influence and is arrested and charged with a criminal offense, this does not guarantee that you will receive compensation or damages for your losses or injuries.
To ensure that you will have a shot at receiving compensation following a car accident, it is crucial that potential plaintiffs look into filing a personal injury lawsuit. Personal injury claims take place in civil court, so plaintiffs are compensated with monetary damages separate from criminal court, where criminal charges are handed down against defendants.
If you decide to file a personal injury lawsuit, however, it is crucial that you do it sooner rather than later. In Maine, like other states, there is a statute of limitations on how long you have to go to civil court to file your claim. Maine’s statute of limitations is six years, which begins to run from the date of your accident.
Do You Need a Maine Personal Injury Lawyer?
If you or someone you know was recently injured in a Maine car accident, contact the attorneys at Peter Thompson & Associates today. Our attorneys will provide you with the support and knowledge you need to pursue your claim with ease. To schedule a consultation today, contact us at 1-800-804-2004.