In the event of a Maine car accident, your vehicle may endure serious property damage. To avoid paying significant out-of-pocket costs, it is important to protect yourself with auto insurance. In addition to purchasing auto insurance, you should learn more about Maine’s insurance laws to make sure you have adequate coverage in every situation you may encounter.
What Types of Auto Insurance Do You Have to Buy in Maine?
Under Maine’s insurance laws, anyone who owns or operates a vehicle in the state must carry minimum policy amounts for several types of insurance. These coverage limits do not represent the amount you pay upfront. Rather, the limits are the maximum amount your insurance company will pay in the event of an accident. Specifically, drivers must carry liability insurance, medical payments coverage, and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. If you are at fault for an accident, liability insurance will pay for another person’s injuries and property damage resulting from the crash. Under Maine law, drivers must carry $50,000 per person/$100,000 per accident for bodily injury liability, as well as $25,000 for property damage. Additionally, medical payments cover your medical expenses and your passengers’ medical expenses in the event of an auto accident. The law requires Maine drivers to purchase at least $2,000 per person in medical payments coverage. Drivers can also purchase $5,000, $10,000, and $25,000 coverage limits without a significant bump in cost.
Finally, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage protects Maine drivers and their passengers if an at-fault driver is uninsured or has a lower coverage limit. Under Maine law, drivers must purchase uninsured/underinsured coverage at a minimum of $50,000 per person/$100,000 per accident. A driver’s uninsured/underinsured limit must equal their liability insurance limit if the latter exceeds the minimum. However, a driver can reject the higher limit in writing. Each type of insurance coverage is crucial to protecting yourself in case of an accident.
At the same time, Maine drivers should consider purchasing coverage beyond the minimum requirements. According to the Maine Bureau of Insurance, the minimum coverage amounts are just a starting point, and they may not adequately protect drivers. Instead, the Bureau suggests that drivers consider the amount they need to protect themselves from damages exceeding these minimum coverage limits.
Have You Been Injured in a Maine Auto Accident?
Unfortunately, insurance will not always fully cover your injuries in a Maine auto accident. You may have also suffered emotional harm, for which insurance companies will not compensate you. If you or a loved one has suffered injuries or property damage in a Maine auto accident, the skilled attorneys at Peter Thompson & Associates are here to help. The attorneys at our firm have years of experience representing clients in Maine personal injury lawsuits, including auto, bicycle, and pedestrian accidents. Our dedicated representation has secured our clients’ significant compensation for their injuries. To learn more, and to schedule a free initial consultation, call our office at 800-804-2004 or contact us through our website.